The Mandalorian: Footage Screened from Star Wars Series Earns Rave Reviews

The Mandalorian: Footage Screened from Star Wars Series Earns Rave Reviews

November 2, 2019 0 By elsabussau3

“The samurai-infused space western you’ve always wanted.”

Matt Fowler
By Matt Fowler

Updated:

21 Oct 2019 4:11 am

Posted:

19 Oct 2019 11:33 pm

Lucasfilm held a press event in Los Angeles this weekend where journalists on hand got to see 27 minutes of footage from the upcoming Disney+ Jon Favreau-helmed Star Wars series, The Mandalorian.If early word is to be believed, the hype is real and this series is “as awesome as you want it to be.”

Given how much money is being put into these new Disney+ streaming shows, it’s no wonder the critics who watched a sampling of scenes from the first three episodes say the show looks and feels like a Star Wars movie, harkening back to the lived-in look of the original trilogy.

Check out these non-spoiler tweets from those in attendance and catch a sampling of raves about the tone, music (by Black Panther composer Ludwig Goransson), and the strong samurai western-vibe:

Reporters were shown about 27 minutes of footage from #TheMandalorian today (judiciously edited to avoid plot details) and it truly does feel like classic Star Wars. The love and respect @Jon_Favreau and @dave_filoni have for this galaxy fills every frame. Gave me chills.

— Laura Prudom (@LauInLA) October 19, 2019


It’s truly staggering how much character and depth @PedroPascal1 imbues #TheMandalorian with just in those few short scenes, even when robbed of an actor’s primary means of conveying emotion. There’s a whole life there you can’t wait to dig into.

— Laura Prudom (@LauInLA) October 19, 2019

Saw 27 minutes of @themandalorian. It’s as awesome as you want it to be. Can’t say anything specific but one scene answered a question that I don’t think has ever been explained/shown in any @starwars movie. Love that it opens up the Star Wars universe in a cool new way. pic.twitter.com/vTxC427sVi

— Steven Weintraub (@colliderfrosty) October 19, 2019


This is the Star Wars thing I’ve been waiting for! While I love the Skywalker saga, I’ve wanted to see new characters and places explored in depth which can only be done over multiple episodes in a series format. Cannot wait to see more of @themandalorian. pic.twitter.com/exRmsLTYzU

— Steven Weintraub (@colliderfrosty) October 19, 2019


It feels as though it takes as much from Yojimbo as it does A Fistful of Dollars… which might not make sense when you remember one is a remake of another, but they are different. #themandalorian

— Bryan Young (@swankmotron) October 19, 2019

The Mandalorian: Season 1 Gallery

Also it looks as expensive as it is — they didn’t skimp with this one. Spaceships, creatures, etc all in full effect. Cannot wait for full episodes. #TheMandalorian

— Drew Taylor (@DrewTailored) October 19, 2019


Reliving my childhood Saturday mornings watching Star Wars. The 30 so minutes of #TheMandalorian footage we saw was incredibly cool. The samurai-infused space western you’ve always wanted with an ice cold lead, a bunch of rad creatures, and a killer score @ludwiggoransson pic.twitter.com/FBcJf9II6P

— Rosie Knight of The Comet (@RosieMarx) October 19, 2019


Just watched close to 25 minutes of footage from #TheMandalorian. It’s very cool and atmospheric – sometimes evoking the vibe of Rogue One (which I adore). The title character is instantly fascinating and there are great action and suspense moments, including some Predator vibes

— Eerie Eric Goldman (@TheEricGoldman) October 19, 2019


Just watched 27 minutes of Mandalorian footage and legit cried. Can’t say much but — This is real and it’s happening and it feels SO FREAKING STAR WARS pic.twitter.com/A56KJBc1GH

— Ash Crossan (@AshCrossan) October 19, 2019


The score is awesome. Seeing @dave_filoni do live action Star Wars is everything I’ve wanted. I can’t wait to see more. November 12 is my birthday and Disney+’s launch of this show will be my celebration.

— Peter Sciretta (@slashfilm) October 19, 2019

Check out the trailer for The Mandalorian, premiering November 12…

Disney just showed off 30 minutes of #TheMandalorian and it looks even better than I had hoped. I’m not usually a music guy, but what an incredible sounding score!

— Lesnick ‘r Treat (@silaslesnick) October 19, 2019


Saw almost 30 minutes of #TheMandalorian footage this morning. It’s truly incredible. It looks like the films, feels innately Star Wars, introduces new concepts, and adds layers that people have been waiting to see for a long time. pic.twitter.com/4JVB16pMAL

— Mansoor Mithaiwala (@MansoorAYM) October 19, 2019


Just saw 25 mins of footage from The Mandalorian and it was everything I hoped a live action Star Wars series would be & I just have a lot of feelings now

— Kelsea Stahler (@KelseaStahler) October 19, 2019

The Mandalorian, created and executive produced by Jon Favreau, stars Pedro Pascal, Gina Carano, Nick Nolte, Giancarlo Esposito, Emily Swallow, Carl Weathers, Bill Burr, Omid Abtahi, Taika Waititi, and Werner Herzog. It follows a Mandalorian bounty hunter (Pascal) five years after the fall of the Empire in The Return of the Jedi. Get a sneak peek inside The Mandaorian’s ship, The Razor Crest.

See how the bounty hunter’s use of carbonite plays an important role in The Mandalorian…


Matt Fowler is a writer for IGN and a member of the Television Critics Association. Follow him on Twitter at @TheMattFowler and Facebook at Facebook.com/MattBFowler.